Popular tips

What does the gharial feed on?

What does the gharial feed on?

Unlike other crocodiles, the gharials feed on warm-blooded species and even the largest gharial adults feed exclusively on fish, which they catch between the pointed interlocking teeth of their long jaws. The young gharials prey primarily on small invertebrates such as insects, larvae and also small frogs.

Do gharials lay eggs?

It is the most thoroughly aquatic crocodilian, and leaves the water only for basking and building nests on moist sandbanks. Adults mate at the end of the cold season. Females congregate in spring to dig nests, in which they lay 20–95 eggs. They guard the nests and the young, which hatch before the onset of the monsoon.

How many teeth does a gharial have?

Gharials have between 106 and 110 interlocking, razor—sharp teeth, which help them catch slippery fish. The long, narrow snouts of gharials have low resistance, increasing their speed through water.

How many gharial are left?

The gharial is critically endangered. In 2006 there were fewer than 200 adult gharials left in the wild. Nearly half of the world’s gharials are thought to live in the Chambal River in northern India. Reasons behind the gharial’s endangered status include: over-hunting for their skins, eggs being taken for food,…

Are gharials dangerous?

Unlike their other crocodilian counterparts, the gavials are not at all dangerous to humans, and are, in fact, shy in nature, hurriedly dashing out of sight (or take refuge into the water) when someone comes around. Also, the shape of the gharial’s snout is not fit for attacking or biting humans.

What is the scientific name for the gharial crocodile?

The gharial (Gavialis gangeticus), also known as the gavial, and fish-eating crocodile is a crocodilian in the family Gavialidae, native to sandy freshwater river banks in the plains of the northern part of the Indian subcontinent .

What are the breeds of crocodiles?

The five species of crocodile found in Africa are: Nile crocodile (Crocodylus niloticus) West African crocodile (Crocodylus suchus) West African slender-snouted crocodile (Mecistops cataphractus) Central African slender-snouted crocodile (Mecistops leptorhynchus) African Dwarf crocodile (Osteolaemus tetraspis)