Useful tips

Can you get a carry permit online in Tennessee?

Can you get a carry permit online in Tennessee?

The Tennessee online CCW process is easier than you think. Previously, the state of Tennessee required in-person training in a classroom and on the range in order to obtain a license to carry a concealed weapon (CCW). However, effective Jan 1, 2020, TN has allowed online courses for concealed carry permits.

Can I get a handgun permit in TN?

Tennessee is a shall-issue state with concealed weapons permits issued at the state level by the Department of Safety & Homeland Security. There is no permit, background check or firearms registration required when buying a handgun from a private individual.

How much does it cost to get carry permit in Tennessee?

Handgun carry permits require an application fee of $65, and enhanced permits require a fee of $100; both are generally valid for eight years. Permit holders may renew a permit by submitting a renewal application and a fee of $50.

Can I carry a loaded gun in Tennessee without a permit?

A license is required to carry a loaded handgun either openly or concealed. Tennessee recognizes any valid, out-of-state permit for carrying a handgun as long as the permittee is not a resident of Tennessee. Nonresidents are not issued permits unless they are regularly employed in the state.

How to apply for a handgun carry permit in Tennessee?

The first step of applying for an original Tennessee handgun carry permit would be to complete the application online under the Handgun Permit tab. Print the SF-1551 form, complete the top portion of the form and present it to your Human Resource Office or Chief Law Enforcement Officer to complete the bottom portion of the form.

Where to get a handgun permit in Mt Juliet TN?

Handgun Carry Permit Class Thank your for your interest in the Mt. Juliet Police Department’s Handgun Safety Course. The Mt. Juliet Police Department offers the training required to obtain a handgun carry permit in the State of Tennessee. Our classes are normally held on the 2nd Saturday of each month at our firearms training facility.

How do you pay for a handgun permit?

Accepted methods of payment for an original handgun carry permit are cash, money order, MasterCard, Visa and Discover credit cards. Checks are only accepted for renewal and duplicate handgun carry permit applications, not on original applications.

How to get a duplicate handgun carry permit?

Order a Duplicate Handgun Permit If you have misplaced or lost your handgun carry permit, you will need to apply for a duplicate. Print my Safety School Certificate This will only be available if you completed the eight (8) hour course and your handgun safety school submitted your certificate electronically.