Users' questions

What is ISO town class?

What is ISO town class?

ISO collects information on municipal fire-protection efforts in communities throughout the United States. Class 1 generally represents superior property fire protection, and Class 10 indicates that the area’s fire-suppression program doesn’t meet ISO’s minimum criteria.

How do I find the ISO rating of a town?

You can usually contact your local fire department and provide your ZIP code to find out the score for your area and when your department’s score was updated.

How do I find my fire protection class?

Your state’s department of insurance has information about protection class, too. Contact the department by phone or visit the website to locate the classification.

What is an 8B protection class?

Class 8B is a Public Protection Classification (PPC®) for communities that provide superior fire protection services and fire alarm facilities but lack the water supply required for a PPC of Class 8 or better.

What is ISO Town class rating?

An ISO class rating of one to eight conveys exemplary fire protection readiness for a community. When a community is given a classification in any of these first eight classes, it means that the ISO review found the community properly prepared to respond to fire emergencies within its boundaries.

What is Town class rating?

town class or town grading. A 10-category ranking or schedule of public fire protection of cities and towns established in 1916. The grading is currently maintained by the Insurance Services Office for use in making fire insurance rates and to encourage local governments to maintain better fire fighting equipment and personnel.

What is ISO protection class?

ISO’s Public Protection Classification (PPC™ ) program measures and evaluates the effectiveness of fire-mitigation services in communities throughout the country. For each fire protection area, ISO assigns a Public Protection Classification code – a number from 1 to 10.

What is ISO classification?

The ISO classification system starts with a 5-digit code that describes the industry of the insured—Manufacturing or Processing (Codes 50000 to 59999), Contracting or Servicing (90000 to 99999), Mercantile (10000 to 19999), Building or Premises—office or space leased to others (60000 to 69999), and Miscellaneous (40000 to 49999).