Users' questions

What are the layers of a kimono called?

What are the layers of a kimono called?

These terms refer to parts of a kimono:

  • Dōura (胴裏): the upper lining of a kimono.
  • Hakkake (八掛): the lower lining of a kimono.
  • Eri (衿): the collar.
  • Fuki (袘): the hem guard.
  • Furi (振り): lit., “dangling” — the part of the sleeve left hanging below the armhole.

How many layers are there in a kimono?

Traditionally the kimono was twelve layers, which is why it was named “juni–hitoe”–“juni” means 12 in Japanese. Since twelve layers are very heavy, it has since been reduced. Formal obis worn by men are much narrower than those of women (the width is about 10 centimetres (3.9 in) at its most).

What type of kimono do maiko wear?

Most maiko also wear a style of kimono known as a hikizuri (引きずり, lit., “trailing skirt”). Hikizuri are typically anywhere from 200–240 centimetres (79–94 in) long, and often feature a lightly-padded hem to create weight allowing the skirt to trail along the floor.

What do geishas wear on their back?

Geisha kimono with obi The obi is a long piece of silk tied around a geisha’s waist. It is worn lower than obi worn by other traditional Japanese women. Theobi helps hold the kimono closed and provides further elegance to a geisha’s lines. The obi also lends support for the back.

Is it rude to wear a kimono?

Since Japanese people started to wear western clothes for daily purposes, kimono have become uncommon, that cost a lot, and are supposed to be worn only on special occasions. But this shouldn’t be so. As a result, most Japanese today do not have the opportunity to learn how to put on a kimono properly.

What does kimono symbolize?

Kimono symbolism Believed to live for a thousand years and to inhabit the land of the immortals, it is a symbol of longevity and good fortune.

What is the best fabric for a kimono?

The kimono style works best with fabric with a soft, floppy texture, such as:

  • Rayon Challis.
  • Voile.
  • Chiffon.
  • Crepe de Chine.
  • Jersey Knits.
  • Cotton Lawn.
  • Border Printed Fashion Fabric.
  • Stretch Velvet.

What is the difference between a maiko and a geisha?

The Differences Maiko use their own hair to make the hairstyle and have elaborate “hana-kanzashi” or a flower comb made out of silk with other ornaments to decorate their hair. Geisha use wigs instead of their own hair and have only simple decorative combs or “kanzashi” in their hair.

Why do geishas wear kimonos?

Geisha wear kimono with a neckline that dips low on the back to show off the nap of the neck. That part of the neck is as sensual for Japanese men as the breast is to Western men. Geisha have a formal kimono (called de) that shows off the nap of her neck. Kimono is the largest expense of being a geisha.

What kind of kimono do geisha and maiko wear?

Geisha and Maiko wear kimono with extra layers such as a bright inner layer known as a hiyoku. Their outer kimono is often a long kimono known as susohiki that drags on the ground. How you wear and layer kimono has symbolic meaning. Geisha and Maiko are well versed in these subtleties. 17. Matsuri

How big is a maiko kimono in kilograms?

A Maiko (a geisha in training) dress can weigh over 10 kilograms. It has a multitude of inner garment layers to show that their chest is flat. And, that creates the image that the Maiko is pure. Yukata is a kimono variety that’s made of cotton.

What kind of Shoes does a maiko wear?

A maiko wears a kimono that has extra long sleeves , is very long, colourful and intricately adorned with embroidery or hand-painted designs. Her collar is red, and her obi (darari obi) is long and wide. She wears high wooden shoes to keep her kimono from dragging on the ground.

What are the layers of a kimono in Japan?

Hiyoku are kimono robes that are meant to be worn under your main kimono. Historically, kimono were worn in 1-20 layers. This was for practical reasons such as warmth and for reasons of formality.In recent times, few people wear Hiyoku. The main exceptions are Geisha and brides. ( Maiko getting dressed in Hiyoku) 10. Uchikake