What is CLIA Ppmp?

What is CLIA Ppmp?

A Certificate of Provider-Performed Microscopy Procedures (PPMP) permits a laboratory to perform a limited list of moderate complexity tests, as well as any waived tests. No survey is required but may be conducted and compliance with CLIA regulations is required.

What are 3 examples of CLIA waived tests?

Examples of POCT include, but are not limited to:

  • Glucometers for measuring blood sugar.
  • Handheld chemistry analyzers to perform tests such as creatinine, electrolytes, hemoglobin, troponin, cardiac enzymes, and blood gases.
  • Dipsticks for urine chemistry testing.
  • Testing strips for vaginal pH.

How do I get my CLIA lab certification?

You can enroll your laboratory in the CLIA program by completing an application (Form CMS-116) available on the CMS CLIA website or from your local State Agency. Send your completed application to the address of the local State Agency for the State in which your laboratory is located.

What is a CLIA certificate of accreditation?

A “Certificate of Accreditation” is issued to non-waived laboratories that are accredited by a CLIA approved agency. Inspections of laboratories holding a certificate of accreditation occur through the accrediting agency and may be announced or unannounced, depending on the agency’s policies.

How to obtain a CLIA certificate of waiver?

For waived testing, CLIA requires that you: Enroll in the CLIA program by obtaining a certificate; Pay the certificate fee every two years; Follow the manufacturer’s instructions for the waived tests you are performing; and

Can a dentist use a CLIA certificate for ppm?

A CLIA Certificate for PPM procedures allows physicians, midlevel practitioners, and dentists to perform certain moderate complexity microscopic examinations in addition to waived testing during a patient’s visit. Controls are generally not available to monitor the complete testing process for these procedures.

What are the different types of CLIA certificates?

TYPES OF CLIA CERTIFICATES TYPES OF CLIA CERTIFICATES Certificate of Waiver This certificate is issued to a laboratory to perform only waived tests. Certificate for Provider-Performed Microscopy Procedures (PPMP)

What does CLIA mean for Provider Performed Microscopy?

The Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (CLIA) Certificate for Provider-Performed Microscopy (PPM) procedures issued by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) permits a laboratory or testing site to perform a limited list of moderate complexity microscopic tests, as well as any waived tests.