What are the WEEE categories?

What are the WEEE categories?

WEEE Categories

  • Large household appliances such as fridge or washing machines.
  • Small household appliances such as hoovers or kettles.
  • IT and telecommunications equipment such computers or telephones.
  • Consumer equipment such as TV’s or radios.
  • Lighting equipment such as tubes and lamps.

What is EEE and WEEE?

The Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) directive introduced new responsibilities for businesses selling and/or using Electrical and Electronic Equipment (EEE). The WEEE directive was first published in 2002 and has been updated in 2012. The EEE that will become one day WEEE are listed in the regulation.

What is WEEE standard?

The Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Regulations (2013) became law in the UK on 1 January 2014 and replaced the WEEE Regulations 2006. The UK regulations require businesses to: Minimise waste arising from their electrical and electronic equipment (EEE) products and promote their reuse.

What is small WEEE?

Small mixed WEEE (SMW) refers to a wide range of waste electrical items which includes: small household appliances, IT and communications equipment, powered tools, toys and sports equipment, medical devices, control instruments, smoke detectors and dispensers.

What do you need to know about WEEE categories?

In order to monitor product and waste streams equipment subject to producer responsibility must be categorised and reported in one of the product categories listed in the WEEE Order. Equipment must be reported per category and broken down on equipment produced for commercial use and equipment normally used in private households.

What are the WEEE categories for small appliances?

WEEE compliance remains the same for each category including waste transfer notes, secure storage, hazardous waste consignment notes, duty of care and obligation reporting. You can find the full list below: Category 1. Large household appliances Category 2. Small household appliances

What are the categories covered by the WEEE Directive?

Clocks, watches and equipment for the purpose of measuring, indicating or registering time Centralised data processing: and other products and equipment for the collection, storage, processing, presentation or communication of information by electronic means

When does an Eee product need a weee symbol?

The WEEE symbol must be placed on an EEE product if the product falls in one of the 10 categories and is placed onto the EU market after the 13th August 2005. The product is treated as “new” WEEE.