Do headlights have to be on when using windshield wipers?

Do headlights have to be on when using windshield wipers?

If your windshield wipers are on, do you have to use your headlights? And although they all vary to a degree, the requirement is almost always the same; headlights must be used: When wipers are in use. From sunset to sunrise.

What states require headlights on when wipers are on?


  • Alabama.
  • Arkansas.
  • California.
  • Delaware.
  • Illinois.
  • Kansas.
  • Louisiana.
  • Maine.

When must headlights be activated in California?

The law says you must turn your headlights on 30 minutes after sunset and leave them on until 30 minutes before sunrise. You must turn your lights on any time you can’t see at least 1000 feet ahead.

What headlights are legal in California?

“The California Vehicle Code specifically requires headlights to be clear and exhibit white light or amber, in the case of turn signals.” “Any other color of headlight is illegal in California. Sometimes people will modify their vehicles with high-intensity lights, oftentimes that are blue in color and illegal.

Do you have to use headlights and windshield wipers in Canada?

In fact, some areas of Canada require drivers to use headlights at ALL times. Because something like “insufficient light” could be open to interpretation, adding a clause about the windshield wipers gives drivers clearer direction and make obeying the law easier.

What are the laws on windshield wipers in California?

States With Windshield Wiper/Headlight Laws 1 Alabama 2 Arkansas 3 California 4 Delaware 5 Illinois 6 Kansas 7 Louisiana 8 Massachusetts 9 Missouri 10 Maine

What makes windshield wipers need to be in continuous use?

(1) A condition that prevents a driver of a motor vehicle from clearly discerning a person or another motor vehicle on the highway from a distance of 1,000 feet. (2) A condition requiring the windshield wipers to be in continuous use due to rain, mist, snow, fog, or other precipitation or atmospheric moisture.

Are there any states that don’t have windshield wipers?

States With Windshield Wiper/Headlight Laws 1 Alabama. 2 Arkansas. 3 California. 4 Delaware. 5 Illinois. 6 Kansas. 7 Louisiana. 8 Massachusetts. 9 Missouri. 10 Maine.