What is a Class 4 medicine?

What is a Class 4 medicine?

Schedule 4 includes in Part I drugs that are subject to minimal control, such as benzodiazepines (except temazepam and midazolam, which are in Schedule 3), non-benzodiazepine hypnotics (zaleplon, zolpidem tartrate, and zopiclone) and Sativex ®.

What does POSS SCH IV control mean?

The drug has a low potential for abuse relative to the drugs in schedule 3 The drug has a currently accepted medical use in treatment in the United States. Abuse of the drug may lead to limited physical dependence or psychological dependence relative to the drugs in schedule 3.

What is a Class 1 drug?

Schedule I Schedule I drugs, substances, or chemicals are defined as drugs with no currently accepted medical use and a high potential for abuse. Some examples of Schedule I drugs are: heroin, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD), marijuana (cannabis), 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (ecstasy), methaqualone, and peyote.

What are the three categories of Controlled Substances?

To determine the level of restriction placed on a particular controlled substance, five different categories (or “Schedules”) are used. A controlled substance will belong to Schedule I, II, III, IV, or V, with Schedule V being the least restricted.

What classified drugs as Controlled Substances?

The federal government defines a controlled substance as any of the substances listed in the schedules of the Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (CSA). The schedules are broken down into five categories: Schedule I – These substances have no accepted medical use, are unsafe, and hold a high potential for abuse. Examples include heroin, LSD, marijuana, peyote, and ecstasy.

What is Class IV drug?

Class IV: Class IV drugs are the nondihydropyridine calcium channel blockers, which depress calcium-dependent action potentials in slow-channel tissues and thus decrease the rate of automaticity, slow conduction velocity, and prolong refractoriness.

What are the different types of Controlled Substances?

Under the CSA, a controlled substance falls into one of five schedules, depending on how addictive it is. Drugs are also grouped in five classes: narcotics, depressants, stimulants, anabolic steroids, and hallucinogens are all regulated under the CSA.