Popular tips

How much does it cost to file for custody in PA?

How much does it cost to file for custody in PA?

It costs $107.13 to file for custody. It costs an extra $42.68 to file for emergency custody. Fees are different (or none) for other filings. ask to be excused from paying the fee by filing a petition to proceed In Forma Pauperis (IFP).

How long does it take to get a custody hearing in PA?

The trial before a judge will end within 90 days of when the schedule was entered, and are held on consecutive days if possible. If this is not possible, the hearing will be concluded in less than 45 days. The judge’s decision will be filed within 15 days of the conclusion of the trial.

How do I get full custody in PA?

Keep in mind, some requirements may vary by case and county.

  1. Step 1: Decide whether to e-file. Many Pennsylvania counties let parents file electronically (known as e-filing).
  2. Step 2: Fill out your paperwork.
  3. Step 3: Finalize your paperwork.
  4. Step 4: Open your case.
  5. Step 5: Serve the other parent.

How does a custody action work in Pennsylvania?

A custody action is a lawsuit, usually between separated parents, over legal and physical custody of their minor child. State law authorizes courts to decide whether one or both parents make decisions regarding the child, with which parent the child lives (custodial parent), and how often the child visits the other parent (non-custodial parent).

Where to get child custody in Philadelphia PA?

 If you need help preparing your custody petition, go to the Intake Unit of Philadelphia Family Court. thIt is on the 8 floor of the courthouse at 1501 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA. Staff will help you prepare your petition.

How can I get temporary custody in PA?

A person who has the right to file for custody in Pennsylvania may be able to get an interim (temporary) custody order for physical custody, legal custody, partial physical custody, or supervised physical custody.1 The procedures for getting emergency custody may vary from county to county.

When is child custody class in Lehigh County?

This three-hour class is offered twice a month in the courthouse, once on Saturday morning and once on Wednesday evening. Parents are not required to attend the same class. The program is presented by A New Dawn Family Solutions.