Useful tips

What is ILSAC engine oil?

What is ILSAC engine oil?

ILSAC utilizes the API’s Engine Oil Licensing and Certification System (EOLCS). This is a voluntary licensing and certification program that authorizes engine oil marketers who meet specified requirements to use the API Engine Oil Quality Marks.

Is ILSAC GF-5 a synthetic oil?

Eneos (3230300) API SN/ILSAC GF-5 Certified 0W-20 Fully Synthetic Motor Oil – 1 Quart Bottle.

What is ILSAC rating?

An oil displaying this mark meets the current engine protection standard and fuel economy requirements of the International Lubricant Specification Advisory Committee (ILSAC), a joint effort of U.S. and Japanese automobile manufacturers. Automobile manufacturers recommend oils that carry the API Certification Mark.

What is the difference between ILSAC and API?

SP is the API’s newest service category. ILSAC GF-6 applies to the fuel efficient viscosity grades, while API SP applies to those heavier viscosity grades like 10W40 and 20W50. API SP will be fully backward-compatible with previous API service categories, including API SN PLUS, SN, SM, SL or SJ.

What do you need to know about ILSAC GF-6?

Improving fuel economy

  • Go (ISG) systems
  • Increasing vehicle’s engine life-span
  • Decreasing low-speed pre-ignition (LSPI)
  • Reducing turbocharger carbon deposits build-up
  • Complying with most recent emission regulations
  • What is the difference between 5W20 and 0W20?

    Both 5w-20 and 0w-20 are IDENTICAL once the car is up to temperature. The difference is how thin those oils are when the car is cold. Neither the 0w or the 5w flow enough in the cold to properly lubricate your engine. However, the 0W is thinner and does LESS damage at start up than the 5W oil.

    What is API oil standards?

    API was formed in 1919 as a standards-setting organization and is the global leader in convening subject matter experts across segments to establish, maintain, and distribute consensus standards for the oil and gas industry. In its first 100 years, API has developed more than 700 standards to enhance operational safety, environmental protection and sustainability across the industry, especially through these standards being adopted globally.