Useful tips

Is WCAG a legal requirement?

Is WCAG a legal requirement?

In 2017, Section 508 was revised with the requirement that by January, 2018, all federal agencies and contractors must, among other revisions, comply with WCAG 2.0 A/AA. So in the context of federal government agencies, the answer is simple: WCAG is formalized under law as the accessibility standard.

What level of WCAG is required?

WCAG 2.0 guidelines are categorized into three levels of conformance in order to meet the needs of different groups and different situations: A (lowest), AA (mid range), and AAA (highest). Conformance at higher levels indicates conformance at lower levels.

Who does WCAG 2.0 apply to?

WCAG 2.0 is developed through the W3C process in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world, with a goal of providing a shared standard for Web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally.

What are the 4 principles of web accessibility?

Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, Robust (POUR). The WCAG approach to creating accessible digital content is based on these four principles.

What do you need to know about WCAG?

What is WCAG? The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines or WCAG provides technical specifications to improve the accessibility of web content, websites and web applications on desktop computers, laptops, tablets and mobile devices for people with a wide range of disabilities, including auditory,

When did WCAG 1.0 accessibility guidelines come out?

WCAG 1.0, finalized in 1999, was a major development in making web content more accessible to people with disabilities. Its 14 guidelines and numerous checkpoints formed the basis for the initial Section 508 guidelines.

Which is the best version of WCAG 2.0?

WCAG 2.0 and WCAG 2.1 are stable, referenceable technical standards. They have 12-13 guidelines that are organized under 4 principles: perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust . For each guideline, there are testable success criteria , which are at three levels: A, AA, and AAA .

How many principles are there in WCAG 1.0?

WCAG 1.0 had fourteen principles at the top level. WCAG 2.0 places only four principles at the top level under which more specific guidelines, called success criteria, are organized. These four principles can each be referred to by a single keyword: These principles are discussed in depth in Constructing a POUR Website.