Users' questions

Who won the Nobel Prize in the field of literature?

Who won the Nobel Prize in the field of literature?

It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Alfred Nobel in 1895. On some occasions the award has been postponed to the following year, most recently in 2018….

Nobel Prize in Literature
First awarded 1901
Currently held by Louise Glück

What are the criteria for Nobel Prize in Literature?

A candidate has to have some work published in the previous year (although the Nobel Prize committee deviates from this rule every now and then); As of 1974, a candidate must be alive at least before the announcement to receive the Nobel Prize. Erik Axel Karlfeldt was the only posthumous Literature laureate (1931);

How many field Nobel Prize are given?

Since 1901, the Nobel Prize has been awarded in the fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace, while a memorial prize in economic sciences was added in 1968.

Who is the youngest Nobel Prize winner in Literature?

Rudyard Kipling
The youngest recipient of the Nobel Prize for literature is Rudyard Kipling (UK, b. 30 December 1865, d. 18 January 1936) who won the prize in 1907.

Who is the first Indian Nobel Prize winner?

Rabindranath Tagore
Rabindranath Tagore was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913 for his poetry collection Gitanjali. Rabindranath Tagore, India’s first Nobel laureate, was born in Kolkata on May 7, 1861. He was a poet, writer, playwright, composer, philosopher, social reformer and painter.

Who is the youngest person to win a Nobel Prize?

Malala Yousafzai
The first group of awards were in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Literature, and Peace, just like Nobel wished it to be in his will. One hundred and thirteen years from that day, Malala Yousafzai became the youngest person in history to win this highly prestigious accolade.

Who is the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature?

Nobel Prize in Literature. The Nobel Prize in Literature ( Swedish: Nobelpriset i litteratur) is a Swedish literature prize that is awarded annually, since 1901, to an author from any country who has, in the words of the will of Swedish industrialist Alfred Nobel, produced “in the field of literature the most outstanding work in an ideal…

Why was Alfred Nobel awarded the Nobel Prize?

It is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the 1895 will of Alfred Nobel, which are awarded for outstanding contributions in chemistry, physics, literature, peace, and physiology or medicine.

Why are some fields not included in the Nobel Prize?

Several fields of human cultural and scientific development are not included in the list of Nobel Prizes, because they are either not among the prizes established as part of Alfred Nobel ‘s will nor, in the case of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, sponsored afterwards by the Nobel Foundation.

Who was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2001?

The Nobel Prize in Literature 2001 was awarded to Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul “for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories.” To cite this section