Users' questions

Who was the Chief Minister of Gujarat in 2012?

Who was the Chief Minister of Gujarat in 2012?

The 2012 Gujarat legislative assembly elections were held in the Indian state of Gujarat in December 2012 for all 182 members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly. Incumbent Chief Minister Narendra Modi of Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP), in power since 2002, was running for his fourth term.

What was the voter turnout in Gujarat in 2012?

First phase of polling was held on 13 December 2012 witnessed 70.75% of record breaking voting. Within three hours, the voter turnout was 18 per cent and by 1 pm it was 38 per cent. The figure went up to 53 per cent by 3 pm, concluding with 70.75%.

When does term of Gujarat Legislative Assembly end?

The term of the current Gujarat Legislative Assembly ends on 22 January 2018. The previous assembly election, held in 2012 resulted in BJP gaining a majority of seats and Narendra Modi becoming the Chief Minister.

How many seats did Congress win in Gujarat?

The Congress won 46% seats with a margin of less than 5%. Following candidates won election from their respective seats: Four seats became vacant in 2012-13. Bypolls for them was held by Election Commission in June 2013. All four seats were held by Indian National Congress members.

How many seats did BJP win in Gujarat in 2007?

The Gujarat election this year is projected as the semi-final before the mega final of 2014, the Lok Sabha elections. In the 2007 polls, the BJP had won 117 out of total seats in the state while the Congress could bag just 59. Can it improve its tally this time?

When is the counting of votes in Gujarat?

The Gujarat election this year will take place in two phases. Eighty-seven constituencies will go the poll in the first phase, i.e., December 13 while electorate in 95 constituencies will cast their ballots on December 17. The counting will take place on December 20.

Who are the members of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly?

Gujarat Legislative Assembly or Gujarat Vidhan Sabha is the unicameral legislature of the Indian state of Gujarat, in the state capital Gandhinagar. Presently, 182 members of the Legislative Assembly are directly elected from single-member constituencies (seats) of whom one is co-opted (nominated) as Speaker.

How many Lok Sabha seats are there in Gujarat?

Elections in Gujarat are being conducted since 1962 to elect the members of the Gujarat Vidhan Sabha and the members of the lower house of the Indian Parliament, the Lok Sabha. There are 182 Vidhan Sabha constituencies and 26 Lok Sabha constituencies in the state. 1 Major Political Parties. 2 Lok Sabha elections.

Who is the present Speaker of Gujarat Legislative Assembly?

The results of September byepolls were declared on 16 September 2014. BJP retained six seats while lost three seats to INC. Vajubhai Vala, the incumbent speaker of assembly, resigned as the MLA from Rajkot West and as the speaker on 30 August 2014 following his appointment as the Governor of Karnataka.