Users' questions

What is a bronze Medal for valor?

What is a bronze Medal for valor?

When the medal is awarded by the Army, Air Force, or Space Force for acts of valor in combat, the “V” device is authorized for wear on the medal….

Bronze Star Medal
Type Military medal (Decoration)
Awarded for “Heroic or meritorious achievement or service”

How many Bronze Star with Valor have been awarded?

The Bronze Star was awarded in the following conflicts: World War II: 395,380 recipients. Korean War: 30,359 recipients. Vietnam War: 719,969 recipients: 549,343 for achievement and service and 170,626 for valor.

How many double recipients received the Medal of Honor?

By Matt Fratus | November 25, 2019. Nineteen servicemen have been awarded the Medal of Honor twice. Fourteen have been awarded the medal for two separate events. The U.S. Navy is the most awarded branch with eight sailors, some receiving the award not for combat heroism but life-saving actions.

How many Medal of Honor recipients are there?

There are currently 71 living recipients of the United States military’s highest decoration, the Medal of Honor. The Medal of Honor is bestowed upon any member of the United States armed forces who distinguishes himself “conspicuously by gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his life above…

Are there any female Medal of Honor recipients?

The only female Medal of Honor recipient is Mary Edwards Walker, a Civil War surgeon. Her medal was rescinded in 1917 along with many other non-combat awards, but it was restored by President Jimmy Carter in 1977.

What is the criteria to receive the Medal of Honor?

Criteria: The President, in the name of Congress, awards the Medal of Honor to the individual who, while as an active member of the Air Force distinguishes himself or herself conspicuously, at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty, by courage and intrepidity. The act or acts of heroism must have required a risk…