Users' questions

How many categories of species IUCN Red List has?

How many categories of species IUCN Red List has?

nine groups
Species are classified by the IUCN Red List into nine groups, specified through criteria such as rate of decline, population size, area of geographic distribution, and degree of population and distribution fragmentation.

What is the endangered list number 2021?

There are now 41,415 species on the IUCN Red List, and 16,306 of them are endangered species threatened with extinction. This is up from 16,118 last year. Read on to find out which of these animals are at highest risk for extinction and what we can do to protect the 10 most endangered animals in 2021.

What is IUCN Red List give its main aim?

IUCN The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species™ is the world’s most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of plant and animal species. It uses a set of quantitative criteria to evaluate the extinction risk of thousands of species.

Which is not included in IUCN Red List?

Species in the Vulnerable, Endangered and Critically Endangered categories are collectively described as ‘threatened’. The IUCN Red List does not include Not Evaluated species. Critically Endangered species may also be tagged as Possibly Extinct or Possibly Extinct in the Wild.

What are the two basic classifications of listed species?

A species is listed under one of two categories, endangered species or threatened species, depending on its status and the degree of threat it faces.

Who uses IUCN Red List?

The IUCN Red List is used by institutional, business and community users such as:

  • national and international government agencies.
  • wildlife departments.
  • conservation-related non-governmental organisations (NGOs)
  • natural resource planners.
  • educational organisations.
  • zoos and aquariums.
  • students.
  • media.