Which meningitis vaccine should I get?

Which meningitis vaccine should I get?

All 11 to 12 year olds should get a meningococcal conjugate vaccine, with a booster dose at 16 years old. Teens and young adults (16 through 23 year olds) also may get a serogroup B meningococcal vaccine.

Is meningococcal Acwy the same as MCV4?

Q3: How many doses of meningococcal vaccine are required for grades 7 through 11? A3: One dose of meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MenACWY; sometimes abbreviated as MCV4; brand names Menactra or Menveo) is required for entry into grades 7 through 11.

How many doses of meningococcal Acwy vaccine are needed?

Administer MenACWY vaccines (Menactra® or Menveo®) to adolescents as 1 primary dose at 11 to 12 years of age. Administer 1 booster dose at 16 years of age. The minimum interval between doses is at least 8 weeks.

What is the difference between meningitis and meningitis B vaccine?

The MenACWY vaccine is very effective at protecting against four strains of the bacteria, while the MenB vaccine protects against a fifth strain.

Can you still get meningitis If you’ve been vaccinated?

The vaccines also do not protect against infections from all the types (strains) of each of these bacteria. For these reasons, there is still a chance vaccinated people can develop bacterial meningitis.

How long does the MenACWY vaccine last?

The meningitis ACWY vaccine provides protection for at least 5 years.

Which vaccines should not be given together?

vaccine should not be administered simultaneously to persons with functional or anatomic asplenia or HIV. Menactra brand meningococcal conjugate vaccine is thought to interfere with the antibody response to Prevnar 13.

Is meningitis B vaccine 2 doses?

MenB vaccines require multiple doses. Administer the second dose at least 1 month after first dose. Trumenba:® Administer 2 or 3 doses. Administer 2 doses to healthy adolescents who are not at increased risk for serogroup B meningococcal disease. Administer the second dose 6 months after the first dose.

What are the 5 types of meningitis?

There are actually five types of meningitis — bacterial, viral, parasitic, fungal, and non-infectious — each classified by the cause of the disease.