What are the 4 types of bivalves?

What are the 4 types of bivalves?

Bivalves include clams, scallops, oysters, and mussels. As their name implies, they have two parts of their shell, which can open and close.

What are three characteristics of bivalves?

The taxonomy of bivalves is based on the characteristics of the shell, shape of the foot, the arrangement of adductor muscles and the nature of the ctenidia and siphons. The bivalves are bilaterally symmetrical mollusks, enclosing the soft internal body.

What are bivalves classified?

Bivalve, (class Bivalvia), any of more than 15,000 species of clams, oysters, mussels, scallops, and other members of the phylum Mollusca characterized by a shell that is divided from front to back into left and right valves.

What are some examples of bivalves?

A bivalve is an animal that has two hinged shells, which are called valves. All bivalves are mollusks. Examples of bivalves are clams, mussels, oysters, and scallops.

What are two examples of bivalve?


  • arcs and various other families
  • Anomalodesmata
  • Rostroconchia
  • Heterodonta
  • Palaeoheterodonta
  • What are the four main characteristics of bivalves?

    well developed nervous system X

  • Has no distinct head X
  • Has an open circulatory system X X
  • External shells present in some species X X X
  • Bite prey with beak X
  • Uses gills for both respiration and food collection X
  • All species are carnivorous predators X
  • Uses a radula for feeding X
  • Can change color for camoflauge X
  • Can form pearls X
  • How are bivalves different from other mollusks?

    The sedentary habits of the bivalves have meant that in general the nervous system is less complex than in most other molluscs. The animals have no brain; the nervous system consists of a nerve network and a series of paired ganglia. In all but the most primitive bivalves, two cerebropleural ganglia are on either side of the oesophagus.