Is the IIHF U18 World Championship an annual event?

Is the IIHF U18 World Championship an annual event?

The IIHF U18 World Championship is an annual event organized by the International Ice Hockey Federation for national under-18 ice hockey teams from around the world.

When is the world junior ice hockey championship?

The tournament is usually played in April and is organized according to a system similar to the Ice Hockey World Championships and the IIHF World U20 Championship (World Junior Ice Hockey Championship). The United States leads the tournament with ten championships followed by Finland with four championships, and Canada and Russia with three.

What does the IIHF development hub do for ice hockey?

The IIHF Development Hub provides Member National Associations, Clubs and other stakeholders with supportive resources to organize and operate development and educational programs. The IIHF and its members share their knowledge for a safe return to ice hockey after the COVID-19 pandemic.

Are there cookies in the IIHF supplier pool?

IIHF Partners. IIHF Supplier Pool. This website or its third party tools use cookies, which are necessary to its functioning and required to achieve the purposes illustrated in the cookie policy. If you want to know more or withdraw your consent to all or some of the cookies, please refer to the Cookie Policy .

Who are the winners of the IIHF World Championship?

2016 IIHF World Championships was won by Canada who defeated Finland in the final. 2017 IIHF World Championship was won by Sweden who defeated two-time defending champions Canada 2–1 in a shootout. 2018 IIHF World Championship was won by Sweden again, after a shootout win against Switzerland in the finals.

Who are the winners of the World Junior Championships?

Historically, the tournament has been dominated by Canada and the Soviet Union/CIS/Russia, together accounting for 30 of the 42 gold medals awarded. The USSR won the first four official tournaments, while the Canadians put together five straight championships between 1993 and 1997,…