How do I read The Hobbit book?

How do I read The Hobbit book?

Here’s what order to read the books in:

  1. The Hobbit (1937)
  2. The Fellowship of the Ring (1954)
  3. The Two Towers (1954)
  4. The Return of the King (1955)
  5. The Adventures of Tom Bombadil (1962)
  6. The Silmarillion (1977)
  7. The Children of Húrin (2007)
  8. Any other Middle-earth stories attributed to J.R.R. Tolkien & Christopher Tolkien.

What is the first page of The Hobbit?

In a hole in the ground there lived
“In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.”

How many books is The Hobbit?

I own paperback editions of all three books in The Lord of the Rings series, as well as The Hobbit. Here’s how long they each are (excluding appendices): The Hobbit: 304 pages.

Why is The Hobbit a classic book?

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien must be considered a classic work of literature due to its genre-altering rejection of the god-like Homeric hero in favor of the nerd hero, its timeless ability to engage multiple generations of readers, and its power to supersede the boundaries of its own genre and influence artists’ creations across many other fields.

What is the summary of Chapter 1 of The Hobbit?

Chapter 1 – An unexpected party Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit. He lives in a hobbit hole, which many people would say is full of comfort. One day Bilbo was standing by his front door smoking a long wooden pipe. Bilbo goes on with his day by greeting a passer not recognising him as Gandalf the wizard.

What AR Level is The Hobbit?

Scholastic rates The Hobbit at a 6.6 grade-level equivalency (11 years old) and a Lexile level of 1000L. I remember reading The Hobbit in a fifth-grade G reading class and being able to follow along but finding parts of it more challenging than the books I chose to read independently.

How many chapters are in The Hobbit?

There are 19 chapters in The Hobbit. The book begins with ‘An Unexpected Party,’ and ends with ‘The Last Stage.’ Bilbo heads off on an adventure and returns home at the end of the book with a magic ring that will be an important part of The Lord of the Rings.