Can a batter interfere with a catcher?

Can a batter interfere with a catcher?

Rule 6.06(c) Comment: If the batter interferes with the catcher, the plate umpire shall call “interference.” The batter is out and the ball dead. The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.

What happens if a batter hits the catcher?

Absent interference by the batter, the catcher must find a way to throw around the batter. If the batter does nothing, there is no interference. If the catcher’s throw hits the batter, then just play on. If the catcher intentionally throws the ball at the batter, you have unsportsmanlike conduct (Rule 6.04).

How close can catcher be to the batter?

When a catcher has their arm extended to catch a pitch, we want their glove to be no more than 4”-6” behind the batter’s rear foot. Many youth catchers position themselves three or four feet behind the batter’s rear foot.

How is catcher interference scored for the batter?

If the interference is accepted, the batter is awarded first base without liability to be put out, and baserunners may advance only if forced. The catcher is charged with an error however the batter is not considered to have reached on an error, and is not charged with a time at bat.

What does it mean when a batter interferes with a catcher?

He can interfere with the catcher making a throw to retire a runner in the act of stealing a base. Second, he can interfere with a runner who is stealing home. Sometimes these two overlap. Finally, he can commit backswing interference (also called “weak interference”).

What are the rules for interference in baseball?

In no event may bases be run or runs scored because of such action by a runner (see Rule 6.01 (j)); (7) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a batter-runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball, with the obvious intent

Who is awarded first base on catcher’s interference?

The batter is awarded first base on the interference (“catcher’s interference”) and the ball is dead. Note that this ruling applies only in this special case of a runner attempting to steal home. You see this now and then.

When is a batter not out in baseball?

Exception: The batter is not out if the catcher’s initial throw retires the runner, or if the runner trying to score is called out for batter’s interference.