What is a communicant in the Episcopal Church?

What is a communicant in the Episcopal Church?

1 : a church member entitled to receive Communion broadly : a member of a fellowship. 2 : one that communicates specifically : informant.

How long does it take to become an Episcopalian?

CLASS. The canons of the Episcopal Church outline the process and requirements for ordination as an Episcopal priest. Although the canons outline a timeline of at least 18 months, the process in practice is often longer, requiring as many as four to six years.

How do you become an Episcopalian?

You must apply to, and be accepted by, a seminary, which is a 3-year graduate program leading to a Masters Degree in Divinity. You may, if your diocese permits, attend a non-Episcopal seminary. You will need to complete additional studies or training in the Anglican tradition.

Is the Episcopal Church part of the Anglican Communion?

The Episcopal Church (TEC) is a member church of the worldwide Anglican Communion based in the United States with dioceses elsewhere. It is a mainline Christian denomination divided into nine provinces.

How is the Episcopal Church organized and governed?

The Episcopal Church is governed according to episcopal polity with its own system of canon law. This means that the church is organized into dioceses led by bishops in consultation with representative bodies. It is a unitary body, in that the power of the General Convention is not limited by the individual dioceses.

Who are the founding members of the Episcopal Church?

The Episcopal Church was a founding member of the Consultation on Church Union and participates in its successor, Churches Uniting in Christ. The Episcopal Church is a founding member of the National Council of Churches, the World Council of Churches, and the new Christian Churches Together in the USA.

What are the sacraments of the Episcopal Church?

The distinct form of sacrament used by the church is found in the Book of Common Prayer. The main features of the Eucharist are bread and wine, which are blessed, broken, and shared by all. 7. Baptism is an initiating sacrament for the Episcopal Church.