What are the aims of the national curriculum?

What are the aims of the national curriculum?

The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the core knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It aims to: “embody rigour and high standards and create coherence in what is taught in schools. ensure that all children are taught the essential knowledge in the key subject disciplines.

Is space in the national curriculum?

In year 5, the national curriculum for science states that children will learn about, and develop their knowledge of, living things and their habitats, animals including humans, properties and changes of materials, earth and space and forces.

Why is science in the national curriculum?

The national curriculum for science aims to ensure that all pupils: develop understanding of the nature, processes and methods of science through different types of science enquiries that help them to answer scientific questions about the world around them.

Is the National Curriculum part of the school curriculum?

The national curriculum forms one part of the school curriculum. 2.3 All state schools are also required to make provision for a daily act of collective worship and must teach religious education to pupils at every key stage and sex and relationship education to pupils in secondary education.

How is space exploration being taught in schools?

Until we have the capability to fly students to space for a field trip, Google Expeditions (a virtual reality teaching tool that lets teachers lead or join immersive virtual experiences) allows students to explore the Solar System to understand its enormous scale.

Why is the National Curriculum for Science important?

The national curriculum for science reflects the importance of spoken language in pupils’ development across the whole curriculum – cognitively, socially and linguistically.

What should I teach my kindergarten children about outer space?

Create a fun lesson plan* for teaching kindergarten children about outer space that includes at least 5 subjects and three life skills/values.