What are EEO job categories used for?

What are EEO job categories used for?

Employment Equity Opportunity (EEO) refers to the fair treatment of employees in the workplace, and the opportunity to attain a job without being discriminated against based on race, gender, or religion, etc.

How is EEO category determined?

In general, there are three criteria that employers should consider to decide how to classify employees into the proper EEO categories: Responsibilities and primary duties. Knowledge and training. Level of skill required.

What are job categories?

Categories and Levels

  • A Job Category defines the type of work performed, as opposed to the occupation or subject matter. The three categories are: 1) Operational & Technical, 2) Professional, 3) Supervisory & Managerial.
  • The Job Level reflects the amount of responsibility, impact, and scope that a job has.

What are the EEO 4 categories?

Related Definitions EEO-4 occupational categories means officials and administrators, professionals, technicians, protective service workers, paraprofessionals, office and clerical, skilled craft workers and service maintenance categories.

Are employers required to file EEO-1?

Based on the number of employees and federal contract activities, certain employers are required to file an EEO-1 report on an annual basis under the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) and the U.S. Department of Labor Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP) regulations.

What is EEO-1 category?

EEO-1 category. The EEO-1 category is one of nine comprehensive employment classifications listed in the EEO-1 Report. The groups include managers and officials, technicians, professionals, office and clerical, sales workers, operatives, craft workers, service workers, and laborers.

Who is required to file EEO 1?

Employers who are required to file an EEO-1 form are (1) those subject to Title VII with 100 or more employees; and (2) federal contractors and first-tier subcontractors subject to Executive Order 11246 with 50 or more employees and a contract, subcontract,…

What do you need to know about EEO?

10 Things Managers Must Know About EEO Law The basics of EEO Law: EEO is the law passed under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 that protects applicants and employees from discrimination in hiring, What is workplace harassment: Harassment is any unwelcome verbal or physical conduct that is so objectively offensive as to alter the conditions of the victim’s employment. What’s not harassment: EEO laws do not prohibit simple teasing, offhand comments, or isolated incidents that are not serious in nature.