Who is the current Chief Minister of Kerala?

Who is the current Chief Minister of Kerala?

List of Chief Ministers of Kerala. Since then the office has alternated between leaders of the Indian National Congress and of the Communist Party of India (Marxist). The latter party’s Pinarayi Vijayan is the incumbent chief minister; his Left Democratic Front government has been in office since 25 May 2016.

Who are the members of the Kerala Cabinet?

Kerala Cabinet Of the 21 ministers, 12 are from CPM and four from CPI. KC(M) will get one minister and the chief whip post with cabinet rank, while other constituents in the LDF will get one ministerial post each, except for LJD.

Who is the de jure head of Kerala?

In accordance with the Constitution of India, the governor is a state’s de jure head, but de facto executive authority rests with the chief minister. Following elections to the Kerala Legislative Assembly, the state’s governor usually invites the party (or coalition) with a majority of seats to form the government.

What was the case against Oommen Chandy in Kerala?

1,60,85,700 in a case relating to the alleged solar scam. A court in Thiruvananthapuram today ordered a preliminary vigilance probe against former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy, five former ministers and three others on a complaint of alleged nepotism in appointments during the previous Congress-led UDF regime in Kerala.

When was the first executive formed in Kerala?

The state cabinet along with the Chief Minister prepare general policy and individual department policy, which will be the guiding policy for day-to-day administration of each minister. The first executive of Kerala was formed after the Government of India passed the States Reorganisation Act-1956 in the Indian Parliament.

Who was the Home Minister of Kerala during the emergency?

K. Karunakaran was the home minister of Kerala during the emergency period. After the Emergency, the Rajan case rocked Kerala politics like no other issue before and Karunakaran was forced to step down as the case attracted national attention.

How long is term of State Council of Ministers in Kerala?

The current state council of ministers was sworn in in May 2016, after the 2016 state elections. The term of every executive wing is five years. The council of ministers is assisted by department secretaries attached to each ministry who are from IAS Kerala cadre.