What is Khairpur famous for?

What is Khairpur famous for?

Khairpur is famous for its historical monuments and artistic buildings. After the establishment of the state of Pakistan in 1947, Khairpur developed industrially, with textile, silk, leather goods, silk clothing, matches, soap, shoes, cigarettes and carpet manufactures.

When did Khairpur join Pakistan?

In October 1955 the Khairpur state acceded to Pakistan.

How many UCS are there in Khairpur?

Khairpur city is the district headquarters. This district has eight Talukas or Tehsils, 76 union councils, 11 towns and 6800 villages….

District Council Khairpur (Total UC = 86) local Government Elections held on 31 October 2015 خیرپور ضلع کی یونین کونسلز
UC No. 63 Tarko Ijaz Ali / Innayatullah

Who was Mir Fateh Ali?

The Talpur dynasty was established in 1783 by Mir Fateh Ali Khan, who declared himself the first Rais, or ruler of Sindh, after defeating the Kalhoras at the Battle of Halani. He ruled until his death in 1801, when he was succeeded by his son Mir Ghulam Ali Talpur until 1811.

What’s the history of the city of Khairpur?

Khairpur was formerly known as Sohrabpur on the name of Mir Sohrab Khan Talpur. Later, it was named as Khairpur ‘City of Welfare’ by the second President of Pakistan Ayub Khan. Faiz Mahal was constructed by Talpurs and Mir Sohrab Khan also constructed Kot Diji in Khairpur. Mir Ali Murad Khan Talpur (II) is alive.

Which is the headquarters of Khairpur District of Sindh?

The headquarters of the district is the city of Khairpur. The district is further divided into eight sub-districts: Khairpur Taluka, Mirwah Taluka, Kot Diji Taluka, Kingri Taluka, Sobho Dero Taluka, Gambat Taluka, Faiz Ganj Taluka and Nara Taluka. Khairpur district is located between middle and northern Sindh.

When did Khairpur become a princely state of Pakistan?

The last Mir of Khairpur opted to join the new state of Pakistan in 1947, and the dominion was thus made a Princely state of Pakistan, until it was fully amalgamated into West Pakistan in 1955.

What are the sub divisions of Khairpur state?

The state was sub-divided into five taluks grouped into two sub-divisions. They are the Khairpur sub-division comprising the Khairpur and Gambat taluks and the Mir Wah sub-division comprising Mir Wah, Faiz Ganj and Naro taluks. The two sub-divisions were administered by a naib-wazir each while mukthiarkars were incharge of the taluks.