What are the 4 types of love in the Bible?

What are the 4 types of love in the Bible?

The four loves

  • Storge – empathy bond.
  • Philia – friend bond.
  • Eros – romantic love.
  • Agape – unconditional “God” love.

What are the 3 types of love in the Bible?

3 Kinds of Love (Session 8 – 1 Corinthians 13:1-13)

  • Eros refers to physical or sexual love. The word eros was commonly used in the Greek-speaking world of New Testament times.
  • Philos means warm affection or friendship.
  • Agapē is the sacrificial, unconditional love of God.

What does the Bible say about love in the Bible?

“God Is Love.” Agape [ajgavph], the love theme of the Bible, can only be defined by the nature of God. John affirms that “God is love” ( 1 John 4:8 ). God does not merely love; he is love. Everything that God does flows from his love.

What does the word love mean in the New Testament?

The most commonly used Greek word translated “love” in the New Testament is “agape.”. This love is represented by God’s love for us. It is a non-partial, sacrificial love probably best exemplified by God’s provision for our rebellion: “For God so loved (agape) the world, that He gave His only begotten Son,…

What does give Me Love Like her mean?

Give me love like her, that line indicates he knows this girl, knows how she can love, and wants that back. I have never wanted an Ex’s love before so I don’t think it’s about an Ex it’s about a girl who is currently there but their relationship to him is troubled and he is hurting. Waking up alone but still with her.

What does the Bible say about love and sacrifice?

Abraham loves Isaac, the son of his old age, the child of God’s promise. But God tests his love. For the sake of the love of God, Abraham is willing to sacrifice the son he loves. Hisresponse is to a greater love. Jesus describes this conflict as hating father and mother in order to love and follow God ( Luke 14:26 ).